Dirty Birds – Week 3

I wrote my thoughts immediately after sucking and this is what came out. I slept on it, thought about deleting it and writing an editing version. That would have been double the work so I leave the original blog. I’ll take a breath or two and be ready to go on Tuesday against High Point. This was a stream of consciousness I had to let wash over me and then move along, I am fine, it is May. Plenty of time left to reach my goals for the season.

Ah failure. My constant companion. Always by my side. The question now is how will I bounce back from failure? Stay tuned next week.

A tough go around for Mitchell this week. I tried to blow one game but the offense bailed it out, and then gave up another few runs at the end of the week for good measure.

All offseason I thought I could manifest success and I believe it. I thought this year would be different. I finished strong in September and I was going to carry the momentum into 2022. I started out hot, but this week was a tough one.

It is going to be a long season and an uphill battle. What’s funny is I know it can get worse, but I’m going to battle and do my best to stop sucking as soon as possible. That’s the goal right? Don’t suck.

I pitched against the Wild Health Genomes, they are the 10th team in the league to make sure there is an even number of teams to play. They share the stadium with the Lexington Legends and my first go around versus them went fine. 1-2-3 inning. My second go I almost go out of a bases loaded nobody out situation. I really believed it. I kept telling myself on the mound that I was in control and I could work out of it. I got to 2 outs and a 2-2 count but the guy hit a double. It was his night, as he went on to walk us off in the 10th inning.

We welcomed the Legends to the beautiful state of West Virginia, and the rain had other plans for Friday. The rain started and never stopped which meant we play two seven inning games on Saturday. The key to a double header is throwing in the first game so you can relax the second game and enjoy the view. I got half of my wish by pitching in the first game.

It all started with a few check swing base hits, and I actually worked out of the bases loaded situation with no runs. That was nice. I was tasked with going back out for the final inning up 7-2 and finishing the game. My first two inning appearance I got the first guy which is the key. Then I went 0-2 and walked a guy because of course that’s what happens when you nibble and the automated zone says strike but the ump doesn’t. After a strikeout I got to face their big hitter and he made sure to hit one into the mountains. I got the next guy on a strikeout and the game was over. Crazy how one bad pitch can ruin the whole day. Ruins the fun of the day and changes my mood completely.

Shoutout Transylvania University

My walkless streak ended while I had two against Lexington, and my velo still down in the dumps. I can’t use the being 30 excuse since I was 30 in Wichita and throwing hard. What a week for the kid. You could say it wasn’t a whole lot of fun.

Speaking of fun. Sports are supposed to be fun. I’m not sure when the last time I was in a game thinking wow this is a lot of fun. Most of the time I’m thinking about executing a pitch or stressing out about nothing. That is what I’ll remind myself next time I’m on the mound. Hey this is supposed to be fun.

The best part of the week was driving back and the next morning making breakfast. My roommate was up there that I know from teams in the past, and he says “So when are you going to start throwing hard?” That’s the $15,000 question isn’t it? He didn’t mean anything by it as far as poking at me or being discouraging. I think that’s the vibe I was putting out there and he recognized my frequency and the stress I was putting on myself.

The one thing I usually have going for me I don’t have anymore. I haven’t changed anything as far as I know or made any adjustments that would limit myself. It hasn’t been coming out the same way but I can’t say it’s early because last year at this time I had the velo. Perplexing situation indeed.

If you aren’t throwing hard, you better strike everyone out, and so far I’m not doing that either. I am doing nothing to separate myself from anyone else. Johnny Righthand is what they call me, just a stock right hand thrower of baseballs.

The trend so far is signing starters which makes sense. As a reliever you have to show exceptionally well to get resigned, or that is the trend teams are showing play. I think the next few weeks of action will be very telling and I’ll reevaluate. I don’t want to make any emotional decisions after a shit week of pitching, but also if there is no chance then what is the point?

If you’ve made this far I thank you for your perseverance. The summer of irrational delusions is back as it always is during baseball season. Next up for the Birds is going back to High Point, then up to Southern Maryland. I’ll drive myself again because why the hell not? At least I can be a man and his thoughts on the road this summer. I’ll start treating the season as a driving simulator and the baseball is the side project.

Slinging it

Hopefully in a month or two I’ll look back on this post and say hey remember when I was down in the dumps early May? Those were the days. That’s the plan. Right the ship and go from there. Quick shoutout to my guy Herget getting signed, pending physical, and my throwing partner eventually getting signed because he’s crushing it. I’ll have to break in a new throwing partner but it’s exciting for them to get out of here.

Thanks again for being an outlet and riding with me through the ups and downs. I’m lookin forward to reporting on the good vibes of the next road trip. Here’s to having fun.

Goodnight bad week, onto the next one.

Author: Mitchell Osnowitz

My name is Mitchell Osnowitz and I have been playing baseball for as long as I can remember. Throughout my career I have taken a unique path and through this blog I hope to provide insight into what a daily baseball player goes through. Also, being able to write down my thoughts is a great way to reflect on my day and a great way to remember my journey.

One thought on “Dirty Birds – Week 3”

  1. Mitchell its great to vent. Let it all go. Writing is supposed to be therapeutic. You are a reliever. Your job is to be ready when called upon. You win today. tomorrows a new day. you lose tonight redemption comes tomorrow. its the relievers life. short term memory. Focus on the NOW !!! go do what you know you can do. Red Sox nation misses you ..

Leave a comment